Set permissions for publishing

There are nine default permission levels for publishing-enabled sites: Restricted Read, Design, Contribute, Read, Limited Access, Approve, Manage Hierarchy, Full Control, and View Only. You can also create permission levels and configure the permissions for them.

You can assign a particular set of permissions to users and groups so that they can perform specific actions on your site. By creating new permission levels (or editing existing permission levels) with the permissions required to perform common tasks, you can associate an appropriate permission level with the users or groups for the securable object on which you want to allow them to perform those actions.

In this article


Permission levels

The following are the default permission levels.

  • Full Control Has all permissions for the Web site.
  • Design Can edit lists, document libraries, and pages in the Web site.
  • Contribute Can view pages and edit list items and documents.
  • Read Can view pages, list items, and documents.
  • Limited Access Can view specific lists, document libraries, list items, folders, or documents when given permissions.

 Note    You cannot assign this permission level to users or to groups. Instead, This permission level is automatically assigned to users and to user groups when you grant them access to an object on your site that requires that they have access to a higher level object on which they do not have permissions. For example, if you grant users access to an item in a list and they do not have access to the list itself, Limited Access is automatically granted on the list, and also on the site, if needed.

  • View Only Can view pages, list items, and documents. Document types with server-side file handlers can be viewed in the browser but not downloaded.
  • Approve Can edit and approve pages, list items, and documents.
  • Manage Hierarchy Can create sites and edit pages, list items, and documents.
  • Restricted Read Can view pages and documents, but cannot view historical versions or review user rights information.

Top of Page Top of Page

Create a permission level

Permission levels are managed at the site level. Because of this, you can perform the following tasks on the top-level Web site of a site collection or on any subsite that is using unique permissions. You cannot manage permissions on a subsite that is inheriting permissions from its parent. Instead, you must either manage permissions of the parent, or you must first stop inheriting permissions from the parent site and then create unique permissions on the subsite.

 Caution    Managing permissions of a parent site affects not only the parent site, but all subsites inheriting from that parent site. Before you manage permissions of a parent site, carefully consider how your changes will affect other sites.

  1. On the Site Actions menu Site Actions Menu , click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, in the Users and Permissions section, click Site permissions.
  3. On the Permissions page, in the Manage group on the ribbon, click Permission Levels.

     Note    If the site inherits permissions from its parent, the Manage group will not appear.

  4. On the Permission Levels page, click Add a Permission Level.
  5. On the Add a Permission Level page, in the Name and Description section, type a name and optionally a description.
  6. In the Permissions section, select the permissions you want to associate with this permission level.
  7. Click Create.

Top of Page Top of Page

Copy a permission level

  1. On the Site Actions menu Site Actions Menu , click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, in the Users and Permissions section, click Site permissions.
  3. On the Permissions page, in the Manage group on the ribbon, click Permission Levels.
  4.  Note    If the site inherits permissions from its parent, the Manage group will not appear.

  5. On the Permission Levels page, in the Permission Level column, click the name of the permission level you want to copy.
  6. Scroll to the bottom of the Edit Permission Level page, and then click Copy Permission Level.
  7. On the Copy Permission Level page, in the Name and Description section, type a name and optionally a description for the new permission level.
  8. In the Permissions section, select the permissions that you want to associate with this new permission level and clear the permissions that you don't want to associate with this permission level.
  9. After you have made your changes, click Create.
  10. The new permission level appears on the Permission Levels page.

Top of Page Top of Page

Edit a permission level

  1. On the Site Actions menu Site Actions Menu , click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, in the Users and Permissions section, click Site permissions.
  3. On the Permissions page, in the Manage group on the ribbon, click Permission Levels.

     Note    If the site inherits permissions from its parent, the Manage group will not appear.

  4. On the Permission Levels page, in the Permission Level column, click the name of the permission level you want to edit.

     Note    You cannot make changes to the Full Control or Limited Access permission levels.

  5. On the Edit Permission Level page, you can make the following changes:
  • Change the description of the permission level.
  • Select the permissions that you want to associate with this permission level and clear the permissions that you do not want to associate with this permission level.
  1. After you have made your changes, click Submit.

Top of Page Top of Page

Delete a permission level

  1. On the Site Actions menu Site Actions Menu , click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, in the Users and Permissions section, click Site permissions.
  3. Note The Settings menu is not available on the Permissions page if your site is inheriting permissions from its parent site.
  4. On the Permissions page, in the Manage group on the ribbon, click Permission Levels.

 Note    If the site inherits permissions from its parent, the Manage group will not appear.

  1. On the Permission Levels page, select the check boxes for the permission levels you want to delete, and then click Delete Selected Permission Levels.
  2. Click OK to confirm.

Top of Page Top of Page

 
 
Applies to:
SharePoint Online for enterprises, SharePoint Online for professionals and small businesses , SharePoint Server 2010